IRSC CHARTER SCHOOLS GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Members Present: Vicki Davis, presiding; Susie Caron, Jose Conrado, Tony

George, Melissa Kindell, Christa Luna, Milo Thornton, Brant Schirard, Dr. Tim Moore, Melany Crawford, Dr. Leslie Judd, Dr. Heather Belmont, Dr. Michael Hageloh, Lisa Davenport, Dr. Stephanie Etter, Suzanne Parsons and Colleen Van Gorder,

recording

Others Present: Wes Bertch, Annabel Robertson, Beth Gaskin, Dr. Angela

Browning, Edith Pacacha, Andy Treadwell, Emily Mass, Michelle Cuba, Cindy Bruin, Autumn Sanders, Tony Quinn, Hans Sorensen, John Barbieri, Vicki Ortiz-Lucas, Nichole Rummo, Lisa Schuyler, Adriene Jefferson, Annette Bracero, Meaghan Ashurst, Bryan Pankhurst, Prashanth Pilly, Patty Gagliano, Jared Queen, Alex Arnold, Jodi Lee, Gracia Buzziz,

Krissy Faulk, Marc Buquoi

Vicki Davis called the meeting to order.

Dr. Heather Belmont presented to the Committee, for its approval, the 2024-25 Student Progression Plan for the Clark Advanced Learning Center and the Indiantown High School.

On a motion made by Tony George, seconded by Milo Thornton, and passed by the Committee, the 2024-25 Student Progression Plan for the Clark Advanced Learning Center and the Indiantown High School were approved.

Dr. Michael Hageloh presented to the Committee, for its approval, the Clark Advanced Learning Center Charter School Renewal Agreement with School Board of Martin County for school year 2024-2025.

On a motion made by Milo Thornton, seconded by Christa Luna and passed by the Committee, the Clark Advanced Learning Center Charter School Renewal Agreement with School Board of Martin County for school year 2024-2025 was approved.

Dr. Heather Belmont presented to the Committee, for its approval, the Memorandum of Agreement between Indiantown High School and Boys and Girls Club of Martin County for the school year 2024-2025.

On a motion made by Christa Luna, seconded by Milo Thornton, and passed by the Committee, the Memorandum of Agreement between Indiantown High School and Boys and Girls Club of Martin County for the school year 2024-2025 was approved.

Dr. Stephanie Etter presented to the Committee, for its information, the Indiantown High School Annual Grade Review and Discussion on Performance Improvement. Stephanie commented the State changed its grading system for obtaining a C grade from a minimum of 42% to 44%. This resulted in Indiantown High School's second year of being a D graded school. Stephanie reviewed significant barriers and gains to learning and a roadmap to improvement for students who attend Indiantown High School.

Christa Luna raised the question of whether students with disabilities are being classified appropriately within the school's system. She expressed concern that misclassification could lead to inadequate support and resources for these students. Lisa Davenport reported that Exceptional Student Education (ESE) is a program that provides specialized instruction and services to students with disabilities and those who are gifted. At Indiantown High School, Exceptional Students make up 30% of the total room ratio in the classroom.

The Committee requested Indiantown High School's Annual Grade Review and Discussion on Performance Improvement be reviewed again in January with an update to the Board.

Tony George passed out to the Committee a Charter School Development Project Proposal from Carvelli & Associates, LLC for consideration. The proposal would help to provide Indiantown High School with the employee and academic advisement, support, and development necessary to build quality Career and Technical Education (CTE) programs and create continuous schoolwide academic improvement. This information will be shared with the Board and will be revisited as an item in an upcoming meeting.

Lisa Davenport commented she has the privilege of working with an outstanding group of teachers at Indiantown High School.

Dr. Michael Hageloh commented Entrepreneur and philanthropist Charles Johnston has committed an additional \$2M to build a sports complex at the high school.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 10:45 AM.